Minutes - 2019.9.9

The Board of Education of the Algona Community School District met in regular session on September 9, 2019 in the Board Room.  President Grether called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.  Directors Bartelt, Davis, Grether, Knudsen, Limbaugh and Nugent answered roll call. 
Members Absent:  Owen 
Others Present:  Superintendent Carter, Secretary Cooper, Brad Sudol and Alan VanOrmer. 
Approve Agenda:  Nugent moved to approve the agenda as posted, seconded by Knudsen. Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried. 
Consent Items:  Bartelt will audit invoices on Friday, September 13.  Knudsen moved to approve the consent items, seconded by Davis.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried. 
Board Reports:

  1. Board members were assigned buildings to visit during the school year.  Bertha Godfrey – Jay Limbaugh; Bryant – Bruce Knudsen; Lucia Wallace-Brent Owen; Middle School-Rodney Davis & Gloria Bartelt; High School-Tom Nugent & Cheryl Grether. 

Superintendent's Report:

  1. Opening Day enrollment figures look good but we will wait for the official count on October 1.
  2. Staff will have the opportunity to hear fromChris Dorn, an analyst with Safe Havens International.  He will focus on learning the roots and causes of school violence.
  3. On September 18, Supt. Carter will be attending a New Superintendents Conference and on September 19, he will be attending a mentoring meeting, both will take place in Des Moines. 

Administrative Report:

  1. Mr. Sudol gave an update on the new Elementary Playground Equipment.  A big thank you to the community for donating to this project and all the students are loving the new equipment. 

New Business:

  1. Limbaugh moved to approve the open enrollment requests, seconded by Knudsen. Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried.
  2. Davis moved to approve the Career Connect Programs/Courses; Supplemental Agreement, Broadcasting Technology Contract for Services and Automotive Technology Contract for Services for the 2019-20 school year, seconded by Bartelt.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried. 
  3. Limbaugh moved to approve the Memorandum of Agreement with Community Health & KRHC, seconded by Nugent.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried.
  4. Knudsen moved to appoint Rodney Davis as IASB Convention Delegate, seconded by Bartelt.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried.
  5. Limbaugh made a motion of support for the Archery Club, seconded by Davis.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried. 


  1. Knudsen moved to accept the resignations of Roxanne Page-Custodian, Alexi Weichert-Teacher Associate and Janet Penning-Food Service, seconded by Bartelt.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried.
  2. Davis moved to approve the new contract for Nicole Foertsch-Transportation Associate, Anette Blaha-Polson-Transportation Associate, Michelle Penning-Transportation Associate, Brooke Kramer-Transportation Associate, Jessica Mueller-Transportation Associate, April Karels-Teacher Associate, Colleen Conway-Schiltz-Teacher Associate, Harley Schaffner-Teacher Associate, Ryan King-Assistant Varsity Boys Basketball Coach, Collin Besch-Volunteer Assistant Football Coach and Noah Arrowood-Volunteer Assistant Football Coach, seconded by Knudsen.  Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried. 

No further business.  Davis moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:30 p.m., seconded by Knudsen. Ayes 6, Nays 0, Carried.